Spring Cleaning my Writing House

I talked in my last post about having trouble getting to certain writing tasks. I’m not talking about writer’s block (first, I don’t believe in it, and second, I have no trouble writing), I’m talking about motivation and time. I’ve had trouble recently putting writing on the front burner.

This week, I’m making a pledge to myself to finish two projects. One is my submission to a horror anthology. A story called The Site. It shouldn’t be too hard to finish since I’ve had the thing rolling around in my head for months. The second thing I plan to finish is the rewrite of White Death. These projects are very important to my future as a writer and it’s time to get them done.

The problem with this is the same as it has been for the past few months. It’s not dedication, it’s motivation. You would think with writing, I would be in a hurry to get projects done, but it’s easy to let life step in your way. I won’t get into details, but time is a problem right now.

My issue is, I feel as if these are all excuses for avoiding my duties as a writer. It’s easy to say, I’ll do it later, or I don’t feel like it right now. This is my lesson to all of the writers who read this blog. Stop procrastinating. There is no time like the present. As I said earlier, I plan to take my own advice and get to work. I’ve cleared my schedule for the week (except for my regular job) and I plan on getting some real work done. I have a potential for some editing side work coming along, so that may help my situation as well.

Now, for all new writers out there who are developing a plan to write novels or short stories, here is my advice, for what it’s worth. Take the time to learn your craft. Get help where you need it and remember no one is perfect. Join a writing group to get help developing you work. But most of all, please take time out of every day to write. Writing every day is the only way to get better. Writing fiction or non-fiction is like learning to play an instrument. It requires practice and that means spending time every day putting words to page. Even if what you write is something you’ll never want anyone else to see. Write down fantasies, images in your head, memories, whatever. It doesn’t matter what your write as long as it is narrative. It will help you along in your journey as a writer.

The second thing I can recommend is BE BRAVE! Don’t worry if someone will like what you’ve written. Just get someone to read it. Hire a good editor. Learn to edit yourself, but hire someone with professional experience as an editor and get his or her help. It’s nice to let your friends read your stories. Remember, your friends will rarely tell you the truth. Neither will your family. TRUST ME! Unless they are not afraid of alienating you, they will tell you it’s great. You need someone to tell you the truth. If it’s great, awesome, but a good editor will give you suggestions about how to improve your work.

Now for the PSA. For those in the Reno/Sparks/Carson City Nevada areas, I’ll be at the lit fest in Carson City all day Sunday, June 8, 2014. Come by and say hello and pick up your copy of Darwin’s Sword. I’ll sign your book and we can talk about what makes you want to write.

About dlwhitehead

I am an author from Northern Nevada. My first novel, Darwin's Sword, is available now from Amazon.com and www.lrpnv.com. I've been writing since I was thirteen and hope to scare all of you soon with my second release, which is still to be determined.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Cleaning my Writing House

  1. I also don’t believe in writers block. It’s nice to see someone else saying that.

Leave a Reply

