Back to the Blog

I’ve been away for awhile and haven’t blogged in a few weeks. Unfortunately, I’m trying to establish an identity for this blog. I’ve been told this isn’t so much a blog as a column of sorts, so maybe I don’t know what the fuck I’m doing. But I’ve decided to press on and not worry about those who disagree.

First, I want to point out that The Horrors of Writing And Publishing is about (surprise!!!) writing and publishing. I try to write insightful and educational pieces about the publishing business and the art of writing fiction and non-fiction. All of this stuff is my opinion, but it comes from a long-term relationship between writing and myself. Writing, in my not-so-humble opinion, is about storytelling. While I learn something new every day, I also know my shit, as the youngsters say today.

So, here I am. I want to continue to impart quality information to those writers out there who choose to follow me, promote authors’ work that I feel deserves it and generally talk about the things that drive me as a writer and author. Publishing is a hard business. It’s a hard way to make a living, but there is nothing on this planet that is more satisfying than completing a story, letting people read it and finding them entertained. There is no compliment a writer loves to hear more than “it kept me on the edge of my seat.”

Writers rarely need a reason to write. They just do. I write when I’m sick or healthy, when I’m tired or well rested. Hell, I write when I’m not writing, which is why I often have trouble sleeping. I spend countless hours going over the stories I’ve produced to ensure quality. I make mistakes about whether a story is good or not, so I entrust first readers with telling me whether I have fucked up or not. I write what comes to mind, cull out the stupid stuff and hopefully what I’m left with is good literature. Oh, and don’t mistake what I do as anything but literature. I don’t believe in that bullshit argument about whether popular fiction is real lit. IT IS! So anyone who wants to argue it should go elsewhere. Poe was popular and is considered lit today.

Onward and upward. I’m also taking independent work as an editor. If you’re a writer and wish to have my services, drop me a line at paladin@dwacons.com. I’ll let you know how much I charge and how to send me your work.

Check back here for more posts in the coming weeks about writing and publishing. I’m sending out some short stories for consideration and I’ll be posting some of the feedback I get here.

If you’re new to this blog, or you haven’t done so yet, check out my debut novel Darwin’s Sword. It’s available in digest-sized paperback on Amazon.com and in Reno at Grassroots Books and Lerue Press.

About dlwhitehead

I am an author from Northern Nevada. My first novel, Darwin's Sword, is available now from Amazon.com and www.lrpnv.com. I've been writing since I was thirteen and hope to scare all of you soon with my second release, which is still to be determined.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

