Writing and Publishing Bravely

I’ve been thinking a lot about the future that awaits me as a professional writer. All the years I’ve wanted to become a full-time writer, I’ve avoided taking a chance. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve written a story and stuck it into a desk drawer, allowing it to languish inside a manila envelope for years. It has been my modus operandi for years. I think all writers got through this at some point.

I don’t even know why. I guess fear of failure had a lot to do with it. I had a phobia of editors saying I should try flipping burgers instead of bothering them. I wanted to write and publish, but fear and doubt held me in check. I had a few successes in the late eighties, but I also suffered a lot of failures. I never relished in the successes, just held court with the failures. As the publishing industry tightened, I stopped trying.

When my novel, Darwin’s Sword, was accepted for publication, my attitude changed. All of a sudden, I began to see a ray of light in the darkened world that was, to that point, just a hobby. I saw an avenue to release stories I thought were quite good. Stories like Naomi, Midas, The Road to Hell, The Table Turned and more, all of a sudden gained a new life.

I sent off Naomi to Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine for publication consideration, about a week and a half ago. I’m working on sending out quite a few more. I’ve finished a short story called The Site, my first foray into occult. I have a lot of stories to market, I also have written many short stories and have many more ideas for both short and long fiction. Writing is what I do best, and what I enjoy the most. I spend about half my time working on new stories, editing older stories and others work. It is my new career and I plan to embrace it. I highly suggest, as I’ve said here in the past, those writers amongst you do the same.

Fiction writing as a hobby has been left behind, replaced by a new career that has become my life. I’ve lived a lot of years and this job is where I feel most at home. I look forward to writing and publishing more good stories and entertaining you all with new concepts and story ideas. I’ll brave those pesky editors with a new found bravery that, heretofore, escaped me. As these stories are purchased and published I’ll let you all know.

On another note, I attended the wedding of my former assistant, Erin today. She was lovely and Rob, the Marine she married, looked resplendent in his dress uniform. I’m proud of them both and wish them well. I miss her assistance in research, but that’s really minor. In many ways, Erin is a member of our extended family and my wife and I felt like extended parents. We were so happy we were included and we wish them both only the very best of times.

If you’re a writer who needs help with editing services or need to learn more about the craft, contact Lerue Press at http://www.lrpnv.com. I give workshops and perform editing services for any kind of writing. You can pick up Darwin’s Sword at http://www.amazon.com, the above website, or locally at Grassroots Books on Grove street.

About dlwhitehead

I am an author from Northern Nevada. My first novel, Darwin's Sword, is available now from Amazon.com and www.lrpnv.com. I've been writing since I was thirteen and hope to scare all of you soon with my second release, which is still to be determined.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

