I hope I never run out of things to say!

Hi there. It’s been a while. I’m very happy I’ve returned to talk a spell.

Recently, I’ve been trying to figure out how to keep this blog fresh. I’ve written about the act of writing, story telling and how it’s done. I wonder sometimes if my topic of conversation is getting a little stale. I could change the focus of this blog to “The State Of The World As We Know It,” but I’d get depressed. There would be, however, enough shit to talk about that I would never run dry.

Ultimately, I’m a storyteller. That’s what I do. I do it here. I do it in my short stories and novels. I do it everyday with my customers. I’ve been harassed at regular jobs for telling stories, even though they were not fiction. In the end, every writer is a storyteller. I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating. I think some who wish to write forget about the act of storytelling because they are enamored with the idea of being a writer.

It’s easy to do if you think the act is more special than the product.

I, however, don’t subscribe to the idea that writing, as an act, is more important than the story being told. One can blame a lack of narrative flow on someone else, but it’s usually lack of education on the part of the writer. One must know how to create a flow and follow the story to its conclusion. If you don’t know how, find out. Writing without knowledge is like stumbling around in the dark trying to find your keys instead of turning on a light. The switch is by the fucking door. Use it.

I read a lot and, of late, have found much of what I’m reading is lacking in narrative flow and development. The characters in many of the stories are flat and the story ideas, while compelling at first, become repetitive and lacking even an indignant grace. There’s a fine line between good storytelling and bad storytelling. There are good storytellers who have no talent at writing. That’s where training can make a difference. If you have talent as a storyteller, you can learn to do the act. But a story that is incompletely written is kind of like sex without release. You leave your readers frustrated and wishing they had never consented to journey along with you.

Journey. This is what a story is. It’s a journey that allows the reader to see a little of what runs around inside of you. Not spending the time to learn your craft is not acceptable. That journey is dependent upon you, as the writer, properly unearthing the story elements and putting them together in a way that satisfies. In the end, your own ego will tell you the story is fine, but that’s when you need to really go back and rip it apart and make it better.

I truly believe the act of writing is cathartic, but it’s also about entertainment. There is nothing more fulfilling than knowing you’ve pulled something off in a story. When you can go back and read something you’ve written and find yourself caught up in the story, you’ve done what you set out to do. You’ve succeeded.

Check out Darwin’s Sword, my first novel. It’s available at Amazon.com or locally in Reno, Nevada, at Grassroots Bookstore. If you’re a writer searching for good training, you can sign up for my workshops at Lerue Press by going out to lrpnv.com or calling them at (775) 356-1004.

About dlwhitehead

I am an author from Northern Nevada. My first novel, Darwin's Sword, is available now from Amazon.com and www.lrpnv.com. I've been writing since I was thirteen and hope to scare all of you soon with my second release, which is still to be determined.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

